Home

I’m not really hungry, so let’s make a complicated dinner! (or – omgbestpastaever)

05/14/2010

I’ve had no appetite the last couple of days. But I have a link of chicken-petso-something-else sausage and a bag of nearly wilted spinach sitting in the fridge that probably won’t last another day and still be edible. And no plans tonight.

I mean, I guess new recipes are best made when you’re not really dying to eat it – who knows how it’ll turn out, right? But really, this wasn’t all that , just different. I’ve seen it called Absorption Pasta or Risotto-style Pasta.

I followed the recipe outlined in my link to Absorption Pasta, but mostly wung it (if you need specifics, follow the links).

(And is “wung it” the past tense of “wing it?” If not, what is?)

  • Cook the sausage or whatever meat you’re using. Remove and drain on a paper towel.
  • In the same pan, with a little oil, saute shalots and/or garlic until soft (about a minute).
  • Add the pasta (I added about a cup and a quarter orichette) and stir to coat w/ oil, toast for about a minute.
  • Add enough chicken broth to mostly cover the pasta and bring to a simmer (not a boil).
  • Cook, stirring occasionally, for about 10 minutes. Add more broth if it gets low. Or wine.
  • Taste the pasta now and then – when it’s about done, stir in spinach (I added about one and a half cups).
  • You can remove from the heat now, if the pasta is done. It’ll carry enough heat on its own.
  • Once spinach wilts, toss back in the sausage. Stir to combine.
  • Last step – stir in cheese (I added about 2 tbsp grated parm).

OMG. Best. Pasta. Ever.

I’m done with boiling. The appetite is back.

One Response to “I’m not really hungry, so let’s make a complicated dinner! (or – omgbestpastaever)”

  1. bean Says:

    Totally B.A.D. ASS!!


Leave a Reply

