Home

pop!

03/27/2011

For a while I’ve had this obsession with popovers… They have their own special, odd pan and such a fun name. I was drawn in by stories of their simplicity and easy perfection, and then scared off again by stories of sunken, unpopped blobs of dough.

 

I filed the obsession away, in the back of my mind with all sorts of breads that I’m sure one day I’ll master, once day when I have a real-sized kitchen with all the storage space I could want for specialty baking pans and other frivolous accessories. One day I’d find something at a flea market or yard sale and come across a quaint, oh-so-already-loved pan and the stars would align and I’d take it home and start churning out the mythical little muffins.

Well, that was silly. I broke down and bought a popover pan. And the next morning, made popovers – they were perfect. I may be jinxing all future popover endeavors, but they rose, popped, and stayed puffy and tall through their cooling.

I didn’t have any yummy jam (oh spring, when will you arrive? I miss the farmers markets…) so I dusted them with some powdered sugar (and then a little more powdered sugar, just because) and added a smear of nutella. Yum.

(I’m also excited to have a back-pocket quick bread option – they came together so fast, and I think minus the spices/sugar, they’d be quite an impressive dinner party addition!)

Breakfast Popovers
adapted from much internet surfing

  • 1 cup AP flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • a few generous gratings of fresh nutmeg
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten (room temp)
  • 1 cup milk (room temp)
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • powdered sugar, nutella, jam, etc. for topping
  1. Preheat the oven to 425.
  2. Whisk the eggs just until they change color, whisk in the milk
  3. Whisk the flour, (regular) sugar and spices to combine, and whisk in the milk mixture and set aside
  4. Divide the butter into 6 pieces, drop one in each popover cup and preheat the pan in the oven for about 5 minutes – set the pan on a regular cookie sheet so it’s stable
  5. Bring the pan back out of the oven and quickly divide the batter into the cups – each should be filled to about 2/3 full. The butter will be so hot that they’ll start to cook immediately.
  6. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes – keep an eye on them so they don’t burn, but DO NOT open the oven door.
  7. Remove from the oven and allow to cool for a minute or two in the pan – then remove to cooling rack or basket. If you’re worried they’ll fall, you may want to pierce each with a sharp knife to release the steam (I didn’ t need to do this).
  8. Dust with powdered sugar and serve, with jam or nutella!

Leave a Reply

